Vinyl Trap – Part 2

In the Vinyl Tap, Preston, August 2023.

Introduction

This short, reflective post has nothing to do with my recent cancer diaries. However, it does refer to a 2013 book entitled ‘1001 albums that [you] must hear before you die‘. So, with my recent cancer prognosis, and not knowing how long I’ve got left to live, the title has become more apposite. Over the past few weeks, I have been struggling with getting a full night’s sleep, with steroids and other medications that I have been taking causing some ‘insomnia’. As the late Maxi Jazz of Faithless once sung, ‘I can’t get no sleep‘ or as Mick Jagger recently put it on the excellent ‘Hackney Diamonds’ record, ‘Lately I can’t get no sleep, I’m a real insomniac“. On one of those restless nights I sat up with my iPhone and tried to list my top 50 albums of all time – from memory. This was not an easy task and the list is subject to change on a regular basis. My list eventually expanded to 100 before I finally got back to sleep. I’ve since expanded it to 400, but am only listing the first quarter here, as beyond the top 50 they really could be in any order.

My growing vinyl collection – as of 15 February 2024

A Bristol Connection

A couple of years ago, on my 51st birthday, I published a post about vinyl records. I had just purchased a new turntable and speaker set up in my Preston flat. With any spare pocket money from my full-time job at the university, I purchased old and new records from Preston market, vinyl fairs that visited the city and Action Records. In that previous post I mentioned getting a T-shirt and tote bag from Haz Wiltshire, a Bristolian and frequent gig goer. A lovely gift to bring to an Ian McNabb (at no.45 with ‘Truth and Beauty‘) gig at the Ferret, in Preston, a couple of months later. Then in March last year, not long after my 52nd birthday, I finally visited Bristol for the first time and got a lift from Haz to Longwell Records in Keynsham, named after Longwell Green. The owner, Iain Aitchison, played a pub landlord in another Bristolian, Stephen Merchant’s The Outlaws on BBC, stating firmly that the toilets (were) for customers only. In response, Christopher Walken (playing Frank) asked for a Mai Tai to which Iain in his cameo role asked ‘What the fuck’s a Mai Tai‘? I met Iain and he shared the photo below on social media. I deliberately bought a vinyl copy of Massive Attack’s Blue Lines (no.5), which I had only ever had on cassette and CD, but is one of my favourite ten albums of all time, with their third album, Mezzanine (no.20), also highly rated. Just down the road from Bristol are Portishead‘s debut (no.7), while another Bristol collective, The Blue Aeroplanes ‘Swagger‘ LP flies in at no. 37. 

Now I have just turned 53. This is, therefore, a brief follow-up post about how I have reconnected with the joy of playing records once more over the past two years and getting everything set up at home in Wells-next-the-Sea. And my (curtailed) list of albums. If you want to employ me, then I will happily accept payment in vinyl!

Standing with Iain at Longwell Records, Keynsham, March 2023.
Photo by Haz Wiltshire.
Stephen Merchant in his Longwell T-shirt spinning The Rolling Stones’ Some Girls. This ones for Rene!
Bristol Massive. Numbers 5, 6, 20 and 37 on the list.

1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die.

Back to that book with the blunt and direct instruction in the title! It is one of those dubious musical reference books, which was first published in 2005 by Universe Publishing. Part of the 1001 Before You Die series, it compiles writings and information on albums chosen by a panel of music critics to be the most important, influential, and best in popular music between the 1950s and the 2010s. The book, first published in 2005, is edited by Robert Dimery, an English writer and editor who had previously worked for magazines such as Time Out and Vogue. I say ‘dubious’ because it is incredibly biased, opinionated and completely leaves out several of my favourite musical acts, such as Deacon Blue (nos 1, 26 and 51), Prefab Sprout (nos 15; 79) and Half Man Half Biscuit (no.86) – so should not be seen as any kind of definitive list.

Furthermore, it was published in 2013 – so does not include Janelle Monáe’s brilliant 2018 record ‘Dirty Computer‘ (no.140 on my list) nor Olivia Rodrigo’s debut ‘SOUR‘ (no. 193) – in my opinion one of the (debut) best albums of 2021. No doubt Billie Eilish’s 2019 debut record would probably make that list now, but the publication stops at 2013 – with David Bowie‘s penultimate record ‘The Next Day‘ (no.196 for me). Other albums by him are higher on my list, and although the final album ‘Blackstar‘, named after his cancer lesion, isn’t in the 100, ‘Hunky Dory‘ (no. 13) and ‘Scary Monsters‘ (no.41) are, with ‘Ziggy Stardust‘ just outside the 100.

From top-left to bottom-right: Suzanne Vega, Tori Amos, Janelle Monáe and Olivia Rodrigo at numbers 6, 9, 140 and 196 on my list.

The massive (see what I did there?) 1001 album list appropriately kicks off with Frank Sinatra’s Capitol record ‘In the Wee Small Hours (of the Morning). Timely, given my recent insomnia and making this list. The second track on that 1955 album is a vocal version of ‘Mood Indigo’ which I actually played live with The Warham 5 jazz band back in 1995. A lot of the first 20 records in the book (all 50s, early 60s) are jazz or jazz related, including Count Basie, Billie Holiday, Miles Davis’Kind of Blue (no.25) is on the list, and the afro-cuban Machito. This is the kind of music I only usually hear when listening to Jamie Cullum’s weekly jazz show on BBC radio 2. In terms of crossover between the 1001 albums and my own list below, there are 42 titles on both. But I have just bought Davis’ ‘Birth of the Cool‘ on long player for my birthday.

A 2013 edition of this book by 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die is a reference book first published in 2005.
No.1 of 1001: Frank Sinatra’s record ‘In The Wee Small Hours’

Now I am back in North Norfolk, where we only have the fiercely independent ‘Punk Office’ in Holt, I have gone back to ordering online and having stuff delivered. The last time I visited Andrew at the vinyl vault, I picked up a copy of Heaven 17’s Penthouse and Pavement (no.167), along with a Charlatans’ record (no.250) – Lead singer Tim Burgess lives near Holt and my sister-in-law has taught his son at Holt Primary school. OK, there is HMV but they tend to be a little bit overpriced, so like my good friend, ‘Rene LeLong Player‘ (his new moniker on Instagram) I am seeking out alternative ways of getting second hand stuff. He recently sent me a copy of Talking Heads’ Naked (no.130), one of hundreds I stupidly sold to Beatniks, Norwich, back in 2016. I also received the original 10cc greatest hits and the 1975 Fleetwood Mac LP!

[above] My Tim Burgess (of the Charlatans) phase, around 3 years old.
Playing Solitude Standing (No.9) in Preston
‘The Queen is Dead’ (no. 40) with ‘Anxiety Replacement Therapy’ below (no.97)
4 recent purchases. What I spent my birthday money on.

As Muse declare on Absolution (no.24) , ‘Time is running out’. So as time might be running out for me, with my cancer prognosis, I thought I would try to at least listen to ‘the 1001 albums’ from that 2013 publication, even if I have already heard about 80% of them and own about 50% of them in some form or other.  As well as mentioning some of my purchases over the last couple of years, I have attempted to list my 100 favourite original (studio) albums of all time, not necessarily on vinyl, but ones I have owned – whether it be on vinyl, cassette or CD. It’s not exactly a difficult task. But what is far more difficult is to list records in some sort of order. I may never own all 100 on record again, but I hope to have at least the top 50 in my collection (again) very soon – a sort of ‘bucket list’ thing to do before I shuffle off this mortal coil. If not, there are still the 1000+ cassette tapes and 600 or so original CDs I still own at home.

The Wall (no.22) outside my mother’s place in Fakenham –
which I had an argument with in January!

Stop Making Sense

This post has been published in the week that legendary radio 1/2 DJ, Steve Wright, sadly passed away, aged 69. Whilst his zoo-style format was not to my liking, it was very popular and he had a 40+ year career, with his final ‘love songs’ show being broadcast last Sunday. His colleague, Jo Whiley was amongst many paying tribute on her evening show on 13 February, a date which Wright had referred to in his final broadcast, ahead of Valentine’s Day, for which love songs were, obviously, the standard.

Not for the first time, I got a mention on BBC radio 2 Jo Whiley’s show on 8 February. Her ‘vinyl revival’ record for this week was Talking Heads’ ‘Stop Making Sense‘ (no.155) – way down the list because it is actually the full concert movie I prefer rather than original 9 track only LP – but it has been been expanded and remastered a few times, including when the Silence of the Lamb director Jonathan Demme’s film was released on 4K in cinemas last year and is on my wish list for this year! There also happens to be a new covers version by an array of artists also coming out later this year. Paramore’s Burning Down the House has already been released.

Anyway, time I started making sense and do what you probably came here for. It is my very subjective, favourite 100 albums of all time as of 15 February 2024 and of course is subject to change:

No.1 ! A post in a Facebook group that I’m part of.
  1. Deacon Blue – Raintown ☔️ (year of original release: 1987)
  2. Kate Bush – The Hounds of Love 🐶 💔 (1985)
  3. Peter Gabriel – So (1986)
  4. Pink Floyd – Dark Side of the Moon 🌒 (1973)
  5. Massive Attack – Blue Lines (1991)
  6. Tori Amos – Little Earthquakes (1992)
  7. Portishead – Dummy (1994)
  8. Radiohead – OK Computer (1997)
  9. Suzanne Vega – Solitude Standing (1987)
  10. Talk Talk – Spirit of Eden (1988)
  11. Queen – A Night at the Opera (1975)
  12. The Fat Lady Sings – Twist (1991)
  13. David Bowie – Hunky Dory (1971)
  14. Radiohead – The Bends (1995)
  15. Prefab Sprout – Steve McQueen a.k.a. ‘Two Wheels Good’ in the US (1985)
  16. Tracy Chapman – Tracy Chapman (1988)
  17. Fleetwood Mac – Rumours (1977)
  18. REM – Automatic for the People (1992)
  19. Kate Bush – The Sensual World (1989)
  20. Massive Attack – Mezzanine (1998)
  21. New Order – Substance 1987* (1987)
  22. Pink Floyd – The Wall (1979)
  23. Suzanne Vega – 99.9• (1992)
  24. Muse – Absolution (2003)
  25. Miles Davis – Kind of Blue (1959)
  26. Deacon Blue – Fellow Hoodlums (1991)
  27. Peter Gabriel – Peter Gabriel 3 (Melt) (1980)
  28. The Christians – The Christians (1987)
  29. Pixies – Come on Pilgrim / Surfer Rosa (1987/8)
  30. Sugar – Copper Blue (1992)
  31. Peter Gabriel – i/o (2023)
  32. Faith No More – Angel Dust (1992)
  33. Tears for Fears – The Seeds of Love (1989)
  34. Björk – Post (1995)
  35. Tears for Fears – Songs from the Big Chair (1985)
  36. Pixies – Bossanova (1990)
  37. The Blue Aeroplanes – Swagger (1990)
  38. Peter Gabriel – Us (1992)
  39. Kate Bush – Never for Ever (1980)
  40. The Smiths – The Queen is Dead (1986)
  41. David Bowie – Scary Monsters and Super Creeps (1980)
  42. Neil Young – Harvest (1972)
  43. Björk – Debut (1993)
  44. The Boomtown Rats – Tonic for the Troops (1978)
  45. Ian McNabb – Truth and Beauty (1993)
  46. Mike Oldfield – Tubular Bells (1973)
  47. REM – Out of Time (1991)
  48. The Waterboys – This is the Sea (1985)
  49. Genesis – Selling England by the Pound (1974)
  50. Neil Young – Sleeps with Angels (1994)
  51. Deacon Blue – When the World Knows Your Name (1989)
  52. REM – Green (1988)
  53. Blur – Parklife (1994)
  54. Talking Heads – Remain in Light (1980)
  55. Bob Marley and the Wailers – Kaya (1978)
  56. Oasis – (What’s the Story) Morning Glory (1995)
  57. Stevie Wonder – Songs in the Key 🔑 of Life (1976)
  58. Pulp – Different Class (1995)
  59. Paul Simon – Graceland (1986)
  60. The Smiths – Hatful of Hollow* (1984)
  61. Depeche Mode – Violator (1990)
  62. Talking Heads – Little Creatures (1985)
  63. Tori Amos. – Under the Pink (1994)
  64. Neil Young – Harvest Moon (1992)
  65. Youssou n’dour – Immigrés (1984)
  66. Steely Dan – Aja (1977)
  67. De La Soul – Three Feet High and Rising (1989)
  68. Buena Vista Social Club – Buena Vista Social Club (1997)
  69. Suede – Dog Man Star (1994)
  70. Nirvana – Nevermind (1991)
  71. Kate Bush – Aerial (2005)
  72. The Clash – London Calling (1979)
  73. Arctic Monkeys – Whatever People Say I am, That’s What I’m Not (2005)
  74. The KLF – The White Room (1990)
  75. Fleetwood Mac – Tango in the Night (1987)
  76. Prince – Purple Rain (1984)
  77. Prefab Sprout – Jordan: The Comeback (1990)
  78. Oasis – Definitely Maybe (1994)
  79. Tom Petty – Full Moon Fever (1989)
  80. Peter Gabriel – Peter Gabriel (Car) (1977)
  81. Midnight Oil – Diesel and Dust (1987
  82. Kate Bush – The Kick Inside (1978)
  83. They Might Be Giants – Flood (1990)
  84. Soul II Soul – Club Classics Vol 1 (1989)
  85. Pet Shop Boys – Actually (1987)
  86. 10,000 Maniacs – In My Tribe (1987)
  87. Half Man Half Biscuit – Achtung Bono (2005)
  88. Bob Marley and the Wailers – Exodus (1977)
  89. Baaba Maal – Missing You (Mi Yeewnii) (2001)
  90. Muse – Origin of Symmetry (2001)
  91. Primal Scream – Screamadelica (1991)
  92. Frightened Rabbit – Painting of a Panic Attack (2016)
  93. The Pogues – If I Should Fall from Grace with God (1987)
  94. The Waterboys – Fisherman’s Blues (1988)
  95. U2 – Achtung Baby (1991)
  96. The White Stripes – Elephant (2003)
  97. The Lottery Winners – Anxiety Replacement Therapy (also 2023)
  98. Eels – Beautiful Freak (1996)
  99. Elvis Costello – Imperial Bedroom (1982)
  100. Metallica – Metallica (The Black Album) (1991)

*technically compilation albums, rather than original studio ones.

My Peter Gabriel collection

With 5 separate entries in the top 100, Kate Bush, an artist I have written about before, is the most widely featured artist, along with Peter Gabriel – who turned 74 this week, also with 5 entries. Anyway, I won’t give up and will plough on and attempt to listen to all the remaining albums on the bigger list, that I haven’t yet heard, before the end of 2024. Not that I am going to die anytime soon!

So what’s in your favourite list? Whilst this post is just self-indulgence, really, and something I created out of insomnia, I would be interested in any comments. Feel free to share yours… in the meantime I’ve got a couple of gigs to go to – The Musical Box – the best Genesis tribute band going – as endorsed by both Gabriel and Phil Collins – on 1 March, Cambridge. Then John Cooper Clarke performs in my hometown of Wells a few days later, before a nationwide tour. Can’t wait for either!

John Cooper Clarke’s ‘Disguise in Love’ (1978) – nowhere on my list!
Thanks a Minion!
‘Phil’ wearing the new Longwell Records beanie, next to my Kate Bush collection.

Postscript:

As a result of this post and sharing my favourite 100 albums, my friend Matthew Tullett has set up a WhatsApp group, and invited myself, mutual friend, Andy, Ben, plus Rene LeLong – who left the only comment on here. The intention is for them all to list their favourite 50 or 100 records of all time. In addition, a spreadsheet has been created in attempt to listen to all 1001 albums from the Dimery book. Well, I’m going to give it a go anyway, roughly listening in chronological order. I started today with Duke Ellington at Newport. If there is one track on that remastered 1956 record to recommend it would be the 14 minute Diminuendo and Crescendo in Blue’ which “features the fizzing blues of tenor saxophonist Paul Gonsalves.” (p30). The record also has a version of Duke’s Mood Indigo, mentioned in the post, which was also recorded by Frank Sinatra and myself. Not together, obviously.

2 comments

  1. A great read as always Phil and containing two of my favourite topics, records and lists. Over the years I’ve made plenty of lists, many music related. My first top ten of favourite singles was back in the mid 70’s, no evidence remains of it but I do remember that Kenny and “The Bump” was my number one! Afte that ,as a young teenager I made lists for weeks on end of my favourite singles in the charts at the time, again no evidence remains but I can remember a lot of the ‘number ones’ at time. However I do have diaries from the mid eighties and a few top tens along with a record of all my ‘number one singles’ from 1984-1988. I stopped on my 100th entry which was Deacon Blue- Real Gone Kid! So now the challenge is on to provide my top ALBUMS.. eh..?! Ok, challenge accepted. a was make I just who can resist a challenge of making a list. Unlike you I don’t use streaming much, and hardly at all for albums so I will limit myself to physical copies I on. Its tempting to include compilations but I wont, so albums only and no Greatest Hits.. watch this space..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.